(Archived) iPhone App - suggestions

Hi,

I'm new to evernote, but very impressed. My biggest complaint with the iPhone up until now has been that it didn't have a proper notes application (that synced with the desktop) so I'm happy to once more have all my notes with me.

A couple of suggestions for features that would make it more useful for me. I've seen these come up already, but just wanted to add my perspective to help explain some of the reasons why the features would be useful.

1. Offline access. The main reason this is important to me is that I travel abroad a lot, and when abroad you pay (through the nose) for data, so I like to stay off-line when traveling... but I still want access to my notes. Ideally an automated background sync... but would need the option to switch it off so that it doesn't sync while abroad. Manual sync would be a decent compromise.

2. Editing. I understand the reasoning behind this, but for a lot of notes the rich-text/html stored with the note is not actually important. I would ideally like to have the option to edit, with a warning that editing would "Discard all styling" similar to what Outlook does when you switch to plain-text email. This seems like a decent compromise until somebody builds a cocoa/iPhone rich-text editor that can be included.

Personally, I'd be okay with these features only being available for premium users.

Thanks.. and congratulations on a great app.

Thanks for the feedback. We're finishing a rewrite of our POP/IMAP mail gateway, which would let you pull down a copy of all of your notes, which you can read offline on any smart phone (including the iPhone). This will provide the first level of "offline" support. Building a full synchronizing client on the phone is also of interest, but this turns out to be a lot of extra work, so won't happen in the short term.