(Archived) Nested Folders/Notebooks & Everynote?

I've been using evernote for a 3-4 years now. To be honest though i don't use it that much because of the lack of hierarchy / organization. For example if i wanted to store recipes on evernote i would need some better system of organization then a combination of a 1 high level folder + Tags.

I go out there every couple months when i think about it to see if there is news about nested folder and i'm suprised to still see no news on this front. This should be something that would be extremely easy for them to add and i know a lot of people want nested folders. I use evernote free because i don't use it that much and would be willing to be a premium member for this feature.

Do you guys think i should give up hope? Are there any competing products that offer better organization (folder/subfolder system)?

Id sure like to stick with evernote though because its available almost everywhere and the picture search is simply one of the most amazing things i've found.

I'm a new EverNote user, and I agree that the lack of semantically meaningful nested tags is non-intuitive and a hindrance to EverNote's usefulness. I know this post is about the need for nested Folders/Notebooks, but I feel that nested Tags would serve this need adequately -- at least it would meet my initial expectations.

You can already create nested tags, but there is currently no semantic difference between a nested tag and a root-level tag. IMO, selecting a root-level tag in the left pane should cause all the notes to be rendered in the right pane that are tagged with any nested tag of the selected tag. In terms of object-oriented-design, I'm suggesting that the relationship between a nested tag and its root tag should be an IS-A (generalization) relationship.

For example, if I create a Recipe tag, and a nested tag called Burgers, then when I select the Recipe tag I should see all notes that have been tagged with Burgers.