how do you use import folders

I just learned about this feature recently from an Evernote Youtube video (h/t vladcampos), which I am shocked by since I have been using Evernote since 2010! On the surface it seems very intriguing, especially since my job is very research/writing/pdf heavy. I have seen some users like @PinkElephantand @agsteelepost about it when troubleshooting or answering questions on the forums. But, I would be curious to hear how how do you all use this feature to improve your work? Does this provide, like, a Dropbox-level of sync-ability? Or do you just use it to get a big batch of files into Evernote to work with them there? What are your use cases? 

Just curious to learn what others do so I can figure out how it could work for me. Anyway, thanks for reading! 

• Level 5

Basically you link a folder to an EN notebook. Which means you can have several import folders, each one dropping anything pushed into it into a different notebook.

This leads to interesting options, especially when you use these notebooks as entry inboxes, and tag the content there before moving it further.

One specific use case is with my ix500 scanner and the ScanSnap Manager Software. I send the scan into ScanSnap Manager, and have it OCRed there. Then I modify the file name to something that meets my filing rules. 

And then I save it directly into my Scan Import Folder. The note carries the file name as title - which means no title rework any more. The Import folder has completely replaced the „Scan to Evernote“ option. First because I prefer to have my OCR done by my software, not by EN, and second, because I get a good note title instead of the coded garbage the scanner produces.

BTW import folders on legacy were a Windows client feature only, it never made it to the Mac. To have a unified import folder feature only came with v10.

• Like 1
  • Level 5*