Note counts are different on each device I am using

xyzzy

Idea

I have Evernote installed on the following devices:

1) iPhone 7 Plus iOS 15.1 Evernote 10.42 (1126623)
2) iPhone XS Max iOS 12.3.1 Evernote 8.24.6.370571
3) MacBook Pro MacOS 10.15.7 Evernote 7.14 (458244 Direct)

Evernote is sync'd and up to date on every device. However, my total note count is different on each device:

1) iPhone 7 Plus: 7,480 notes
2) iPhone XS Max: 7,562 notes
3) MacBook Pro: 7,5658 notes

Please help me understand why this is.
Which number of notes is correct?
And why are some notes missing from some devices?

I have a paid subscription (PLUS member).

Thank you.

6 replies to this idea

For closure on this topic, with the assistance of Evernote customer support, it was determined the presence of a "joined" notebook in my account accounted for the discrepancy in note counts. Joined notebooks only show on Evernote Legacy for Mac and my older iPhone XS Max client, but not in Evernote Web and my newer iPhone 7 Plus client. After I removed the joined notebook, the note counts on all my devices matched perfectly. Thanks for the other ideas posted on this thread.

• Level 5

You are running 2 legacy clients. This is deprecated software, nobody really knows what is going in in that black box.

The official note count is what you get when you open the web client. Any client with its own local database can build up problems that lead to a different note count.

Don‘t believe that the legacy software could not generate such errors - when I hunted down my count differences, legacy was a major driver of the difference.

Well thanks for that insight. I'm a software engineer so I fully understand the issues you describe.

For reasons beyond this discussion I have had to maintain the older versions.

But at this stage, I am most interested in doing a comm to figure out which notes are missing on which device. So I can reconcile them, and recover any that might be lost otherwise.