Nesting Function Gone?

I've been using Evernote for more than 5 years, very happily. I use the the desktop version to manage a small e-newsletter business. We publish thousands of articles, written by scores of writers, on dozens of topics, and most articles go into multiple newsletters. As a result, I have hundreds of tags. I created additional tags to organize them. For example, I had  a tag for each author and nested them under the tag "AUTHORS." I run 26 newsletters a year in a dozen categories, and list each year's tags under the tag "YEAR: 2021" and so on. It worked very well.

Earlier this week, my computer completely crashed. It was unfixable, so I bought I new one and reloaded Evernote. I was careful, so all my data was easy to reload. I want to stress that as far as I can tell, ever single note and tag is there--except for each nested tag head.  So AUTHORS is gone and "YEAR: 2021" is gone, etc. I thought, OK, it'll only take me an hour or so to rebuild them, but the system won't let me.

That is, I recreated "AUTHORS." I right-click on it and it asks me if I want to create a NEW tag under it, but not move an OLD one. I then clicked on the tag for my writer "Jack." The only option I get is to move it to shortcuts. No option to move it under any other tag. I then tried to drag "Jack" under AUTHORS. But it wouldn't let me.

So my questions are:

1. Is there a way nesting is still available?

2. If not, is there some other organization feature? Because right now I just have several hundred tags that need to be organized.

Thanks to anyone who can help.

• Evernote Expert

I think this is how it should work and certainly does for me...

Imagine I have an existing tag which I want at the top of the tree called head_tag

I also have an existing tag or tags that I want to move under this called sub_tag