Content deleted with password reset - hack?

When the app required me to upgrade my account ( i have been using the free version) or to unsync devices, I observed one device in the list I did not recognize (an Android device, while I only have Apple). I removed the Android from my account, but the app advised the unsync had been unsuccessful. Evernote asked me to reset my password, which I did. When I accessed the app using the new password, ALL of my content is missing and the account has started over from scratch. I had been using this for several years and have significant personal information in my account. How can I recover it?

• Sad 1
  • Level 5

You most likely made a mistake when resetting the password. Instead of entering your user name, you made a typo. One mistake, and instead of accessing your data, you create a new account - of course it is empty.

Log out, and make sure you enter the right user name this time.

About the foreign device:

https://help.evernote.com/hc/en-us/articles/115004395487

• 2 weeks later...

I had exactly the same thing happen to me today. When I logged in after my password was reset there was no data.  I searched for somewhere to find help and guess what, no help without a premium subscription. Looks like black mail to me.  Please tell me I'm wrong, cos after this I will be getting a notebook and a pencil.

I have trusted this app cos I am 72 and have trouble remembering passwords and I have to record my blood pressure, all that data is gone. 

• Level 5

You likely created a new account instead of logging in.

One typo in the user name, not checking the messages that follow, and you get a new account.

Quit, and on the next login make sure you type everything correctly.