I left. But today, I felt a flutter in my stomach when I thought of EN. Considering a comeback, but not sure...

I left Evernote about 6 months ago after coming and going about 10 times. I decided that I was storing way too much ***** in it; things I never went back and looked at, and it was just a file cabinet full of (mostly) *****. 

So I moved all my files to OneDrive, and a few "reference notes" into Apple Notes, and I settled on Obsidian for "my thoughts". 

I've discovered over the past few months that while I want to be a guy that documents thoughts regularly and maps/links them -- I'm not. I'm a librarian 100%. I like to put things into an organized pile in case I need it later, and for that -- Evernote works perfectly. 

I'm temped to come back with that 50% off offer, but when my year is up and they want me to drop $90 next year, I'll regret the move I'm sure. I'm also very apprehensive about how my data is stored on their servers. With Obsidian, I know I own the text files and can easily backup/restore my notes. They're in Time Machine on my Mac, I can see them in other apps etc. I don't get that functionality in EN but at the same time, EN makes it easier to store media files in a single note without creating attachment folders, and I'm not always wondering "okay, now...what can I link this to, how should I organize it, should I create a map of content?". 

I like the idea of Obsidian more, but in day to day use, I think I actually prefer clipping/emailing, and simply typing into EN. I struggle with this stuff because who I WANT to be vs how I ACTUALLY use these services are two different things. 

I prefer EN I think, but it's not cool and the nerds would tell me I don't own my data etc etc, so I went to Obsidian. Now I'm wondering if that's the right call. I liked my "Home" dashboard and the welcoming interface in EN. 

Decisions decisions...

• Level 5*
16 minutes ago, TheGrudge said: