Automation and Searching

Still love Evernote, but I've had to move the bulk of my operations to Devon, which I don't like as much.  There are several reasons, but there are two big ones.  The minor of the two is searching.  Evernote used to be very easy to find my notes, now it's very hard.  I don't know what has changed, but it's lost something somewhere along the line.

But the main thing is it's no longer Applescriptable.  This is a killer, because I tend to batch process a lot of things and I simply can't do that with Evernote any more.  (and even if I could, I'm not sure I could find them again with the current incarnation of the search engine.)

So, my question.  Is some form of automation in the works?  Ideally applescript, but failing that a least automator operations or (I don't see how this can work, but I'm not an expert) maybe the new shortcuts app.  And secondly, is more work being done on the search functions?

Thanks.

• Level 5

The forum is user2user, and EN usually won’t comment on future features.

The only hint I can give: When v10 was released, I went looking for Electron apps that allow for scripting in the internet. Maybe some have the ability - however I found no one that was advertising or mentioning it on their websites.

Most older EN shortcuts have stopped working on iOS, a few simple ones miraculously still do the job. Have not yet tried on the Mac.

About search: I can’t confirm this. Search produces the exact same hits whenever I try between legacy and v10. The advanced search language works and was even improved by the „contains“ category. Saved searches work fine.

And then you could now go for full Boolean search (build complex search requests) if on Professional or Teams. My conclusion: v10 search is equal or better than legacy.

• Like 1
  • Evernote Expert