Notes Folders

vampireux

Idea

Hello, 

I am currently a student and I use evernote to take notes and make my life easier.

I found that evernote was a perfect tool to have acces to my notes where and when I want to take a look on them. 

There is something that I think will be a good improvement to get better sorting of notes.

When I finish a session, I like to keep my notes for several years, but I can't do it in evernote without making a mess piles of notes.

My idea is to make it possible for everyone to be able to create folders within folders within folders to help people keep their notes in a beautiful and structured order.

Thanks for reading me and thanks for considering my idea for future updates.

18 replies to this idea

It is a pity. If there is one thing we have learned over the years looking at Data->Knowledge->Wisdom, or whatever philosophy you follow, is that everyone learns differently.

In this case we have a couple of ways of organising and there are strengths and weaknesses of both. We also have the difference between "grouping" and "filtering". Often types of people see tags as "opting into a group" and a folders as "excluding things outside irrespective of tag". 

One sees structure and control in a nice neat hierarchy. It is how the brain organises information. It can be very effective and is typically excellent for the user, but not so good for multiple users who would have their own 'internal" hierarchy that is right for them.

Sometimes, as the total number of notes grows, even the original user can struggle to find a note if they have changed the way they think about a subject over time.

Tags are great for unstructured data but people who think in hierarchies really struggle with them. It also changes the amount of "organisational effort" that can go into a note. Tags require a lot of consistency, and are (again) things that change over time as you learn more about a subject or topic.