Opening (and editing) Office files directly from Evernote client no longer possible?

Go to solution Solved by Guest,

On work laptop I am running Evernote 10.22.3 win-winstore-public.  Unfortunately I don't have admin privileges on this laptop and the admin are unable to solve the problem for me.

When I attach a file to a note I expect to be able to then open the note from Evernote, read/edit etc. and then save/close - any edits should be preserved.  This is how it has always been and this still works on home laptop (although I use the legacy version.)

When I attempt to open files on this version I see an error message like attached.  The folder "...appdata\roaming\evernote..." doesn't even exist on this PC.

The workaround has been to download each file locally when I want to use or edit, then I need to update note with new version when I close the file.  This pretty much makes Evernote useless for me.  I am a teacher and have 10 years worth of lessons/resources stored in Evernote but I need to be able to read/edit/update and this is taking so much time and so many clicks. 

I cannot convince admin to allow me the legacy version, but if the answer is that that is the only solution, could somebody say so on this thread then I can go back and tell them!

Any help appreciated.

Capture.PNG

• Evernote Expert
9 minutes ago, redefender said:

When I attach a file to a note I expect to be able to then open the note from Evernote, read/edit etc. and then save/close - any edits should be preserved.  This is how it has always been and this still works on home laptop (although I use the legacy version.)

And this is how v10 of Evernote works for me.

I most typically work on attached PDFs and Word documents but everything seems to work just as well with a Powerpoint. This is what I do...

• Right click the attached document and choose Open. Document opens in the application associated in Windows settings.
  • I work on the document in the native program.