I just recently subscribed to a separate task app: Evernote is far behind in that arena

estevancarlos

Idea

I did some research. I really needed a useful task application. The task management in Evernote just doesn't do it. I've been using Todoist for about two months now. I'm very satisfied with it.

I initially wanted to only use Evernote. It would be more cost effective. Now that Evernote is taking tasks more seriously I am very curious to see where this goes and here are my thoughts:

• These current Task features are just a UI/UX overhaul. Instead of having to locate a note where you previously had a list of tasks, you now can quickly view notes and their tasks in a sidebar.
  • This doesn't compete with the other options out there. Based on these updates, I have NO reason to use Tasks in Evernote. It's not good enough.

I think Evernote should consider whether they want modest task features or whether they want to compete with others. IF Evernote decides they want to compete in this arena then I also want to suggest that they don't try to fully integrate these two experiences. I believe this will become a UX problem.

Consider creating an experience where a person can create notes very separately from creating tasks. Then create a way in which a Task can be associated (related) to a specific Note. For example in Todoist, I create tasks categories by subjects. Then I leave comments on tasks that are associated with files and external notes. If I had the ability to directly connect a note to a task, I would. However that's not an option.

16 replies to this idea

This thread is absurd.  Tasks is just out and people are responding to it as if it should match todoist.  A UI overhaul? Come on.  

Tasks will suit some, it wont others, as is the case with most features but to complain that it isnt as good as sole apps that have been running for years is completely unreasonable.

• Like 6
  • Level 5