New to Evernote. Questions about "to-do" type lists

Go to solution Solved by gazumped,

Hello,

Recently started using Evernote after searching for something to help me track/sync lists across devices. Mainly I want to do checklist type of stuff: Shopping list, to-do list, reminder list for packing, etc. 

Before retiring a couple of years ago, I worked in IT for 35+ years. Over the years I've used many tools like this at work. Most of those were software that the company bought and I don't want to spend the money at home. While researching options, Evernote consistently ranked near the top of all the reviews I read. So I figured I'd give it a go. 

I must say I'm frustrated with not being able to use what I consider must-have functionality in checklist-type of lists. I want the ability to create a list of items that have checklists to indicate when each is done. I've figured out how to do that, but I can NOT figure out how to get it to automatically move an item to the bottom, or a completed section, as soon as it's checked. 

From searching it seems a lot of Evernote users are having the same issue. Unless I've missed something, there is no way to accomplish this in Evernote. I hope I'm wrong, because it makes no sense why such an important feature would not be available. 

Please tell me there IS a way (and how to do it please :) )  to do this without all kinds of convoluted steps or custom scripts. 

Thanks for any help.

• Like 1
  • Level 5*
  • Solution

Hi.  From a personal point of view I'd say Evernote is a bit of a sledgehammer if you only want to create shopping lists - there are any number of other apps that will do the job (though not all of them move the items around on completion - some cross through the item,  others just vanish it.)

This is as much as Evernote can offer - and no,  there's no re-ordering there either.  Create a checklist

On 3/4/2021 at 4:10 PM, gazumped said: