(Archived) Evernote Data Directory

rfaragalla

Idea

Hello all,

I'm a noob with Evernote, but it's quickly grown on me and I am having a harder time each day thinking of reasons not to convert to a premium membership. One reason I am holding out, however, is that I don't see that there is anyway to: a) disable caching on a local machine; and :) relocate/re-direct the data directory to a remote drive. As you know, when you delete/move the directory, Evernote downloads a new copy on login.

Ideally, Evernote would offer the option to disable local caching, except for perhaps indexing and titles (as seems to be the case on the mobile versions for iPad, etc.), but I am open to ideas for other hardware/software/workflow solutions as well. I see that this is not the first post of this nature, but I haven't had any success in finding a suitable work-around.

Fwiw, some background on why I want to do this and my "setup"... I have Evernote installed on my Mac at work and at home. I also have it installed on my iPad, iPhone and Blackberry. This all works flawlessly in my mind. The only problem is with my laptop. Since I travel often, I was willing to sacrifice horsepower and storage for size and weight, and recently bought a Macbook Air with a 128Gb SSD. I have a fair amount of software installed (including BootCamp and Windows apps), so I am low on disk space, and am already in the habit of storing files and media on a separate, portable SSD. Also, it's worth mentioning that if I had Internet access I would just use the Web interface (although imho it is not as elegant as other versions), but I am often on a plane for 10hrs+ without a signal.

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help me with a hack.

And thanks in advance to *Dave* for listening, and perhaps prioritizing the "disable local caching" and "specify database location" option/features in the dev queue :D

7 replies to this idea