(Mac) Cursor jumps to top of Note while typing

Generally speaking - I absolutely LOVE Evernote...I've been using it for MANY years, and have far more information (and notebooks, tags, etc) than I can count. I just wanted to say that!

Yesterday, I was creating a new note, using Evernote web, on my Mac, in Chrome.

As I'm typing...mid-word, it seems like the note might be syncing between the browser and the cloud, and my cursor kept jumping to the top of my note. Repeatedly, I had to keep moving my cursor back down, while I was typing.

In fact, there were times when I placed the cursor on the bottom of my note, continued typing, and once I was done with my sentence, I noticed that the beginning of my sentence was placed on the bottom (as expected) and the rest went to the top of my note, before any other text that was there previously.

This is a HUGE pain in the neck. Frankly, I was tempted to just continue working in a Google Doc, or something, just to avoid this frustrating situation.

It definitely ended up doubling the amount of time it should have - in order to get my thoughts into a digital document.

Anyone have any insight on what's the root cause? Any advice? Thanks in advance.

• Like 1
  • Level 5

Sure, if the keyboard sends „Home“ commands all the time, the cursor will follow.

If a replacement keyboard is available, swapping it for a try can isolate the issue. I always keep a very simple USB keyboard and mouse available, as a fallback.

So...just to be clear, using any other web-based, or desktop application....with the same (simple, wired, USB) keyboard....the cursor doesn't jump anywhere. This experience happens exclusively with Evernote web.

• 2 weeks later...

Evernote 10.7.6 (macbook application)

macOS Big Sur 11.0.1 (20B29)

----

before 10.7.6, I didn't see the issue (I use Evernote almost everyday)

after I upgrade to 10.7.6 (about two or days ago), I saw it once so far. I'll keep update once I get more cases