Why is it so difficult to make a note taking application?

Genuinely.

It seems like it shouldn't be that difficult to sync text and meta data, but somehow EN continually makes a mess of their platform. I work in IT and the only other tools I see that are as buggy and disconnected from what users want are the ones whose business leaders don't actually use the product. The developers, I assume, do because they have to build on it but at the same time, if I were a developer at EN there's no way I would trust Evernote to retain development docs, code snippets, any of it.

I've been a member since May 2010, just checked. My subscription expires in October of this year. So far I've got 10 GB (99%) remaining this month and [my] monthly limit resets in 7 days. Previous months back to June are the same.

I used to love EN, it connected to everything, it was fast, and organization was fluid enough that building a personal workflow was easy. Then it became a case of acclimating to the workflow they force on you is ... easy-ish. Then it became feeding your data into their machine so they could recommend ***** from the NYTimes or whatever, with, of course, no way to turn the feature off. Now all my notes live on their servers without local copies? It's... not really mine anymore is it? If you have a fire, an angry admin, or just forget to pay the electric bill (which my history of reading EN news would suggest is very possible) all my information is just ... gone.