Evernote 10.2 (1108075) Sync on IoS 14.3 not working

Ive been using Evernote basic for 8 years, it has always been reliable until recently.

I now have a situation where I use 2 Evernote versions - the web, and the app on an iphone

My web version is showing a total of 658 notes. The app on my phone is showing 1,827 notes. If I force a sync on the app (via settings sync now), it reports "sync complete". If I put a new (test) note on via the mobile, it will appear on the web version. However, the is obviously a big discrepancy with overall number of notes - lots more on the mobile app that should not be there.

Does sync not do some sort of basic check that the number of notes are the same? How can it report sync complete with such a discrepancy in the total number of notes?

Any suggestions on what is going on and how to fix it?

Thanks in advance

• Like 1
  • 2 weeks later...

Thanks for your response.

I tried this a couple of times now (turning iphone on & off in between uninstalling & re-installing).

I now have 658 notes via the web version (correct as far as I am concerned) and 2,455 notes via the iphone. On the iphone if I empty my trash folder the app says "Trash emptied" then about 2-3 seconds later the deleted notes all re-appear. Creating a new note and checking the green tick results in...nothing! the note magically disappears.

Don't know what is going on but its very frustrating!

• Level 5

From what you describe you have a bunch of corrupted notes blocked in the memory reserved for your iPhone app.

Be aware that the corrupted notes are probably beyond repair, and can’t be saved or restored by any means. I hope you have no mission critical information in there, because getting your client back to normal means getting rid of them.

When uninstalling did you select „dump all data“ ?

After uninstalling the app & dumping all data: Have you tried to force-restart your iPhone ?