Exporting All Notes No Longer Possible???

Go to solution Solved by PinkElephant,

I have been using Evernote for 5 years and have always had the option the right click on "All Notes" and then select "Export" which I always do before updating to the newest version of Evernote. Just a moment ago I opened Evernote and it immediately began downloading the latest version which is also new behavior as it has always asked before starting the download. Anyway, that was not a problem because it still let's choose whether or not to install the update which I was going to do as soon as I backed up my notes, but when I right click on "All Notes" nothing happens. The the menu offering to export does not open and I find the only way to get it to open is by right clicking on individual notes.

Am I seriously expected to back up 600+ notes one at a time??? Is this a bug that will soon be fixed or is this the new Evernote way of doing things???

• Like 4
  • Level 5
  • Solution

In general export should be done notebook by notebook. The relation of note to notebook gets lost on export, so it is better to have one export file per notebook, than all notes on a big heap.

If one does this, it can be done with the new client as well, because it allows to export one notebook at a time. If individual notes are selected, the current limit is 50 notes (which IMHO is way too little).

For a full export, especially when automation / scripting is used, it only works using the legacy client.

• Like 2

Ah ha, ok. Thank you both,  gazumped and PinkElephant, for the info and advice. I never knew it was just save a pile of notes and not the notebook structure. I guess I don't even need that feature back then, and won't have to backup all of Evernote every time I update in the future. 

• Like 1
  • Evernote Expert
3 hours ago, PinkElephant said:

If individual notes are selected, the current limit is 50 notes (which IMHO is way too little).