Notebooks within notebooks and other Qs

Deb11

Hi, posting as total newbie so sorry if this is ridiculously basic but I've searched for answers without luck and can't get any answer from Evernote support when I have messaged (ahem, not a great start EN...)

I'm writing a book and organising my chapters and the key topics within each chapter under them. I suppose this is my "outline".  I reckon I'll probably end up with max of 3 levels of nested notebooks, with everything else as notes.

Q1: How do I create notebooks within notebooks?

Q2: What is a notebook "stack" and is that the answer to the above (nested notebooks) or is that something else?

Q3: Can I change the order of notebooks and notes in the list? I see currently only date created/updated, title and something called group by type. What about in the order that I want them represented in my book?

Q4: When I attempted to create my first notebook I received the error in a red box "failed to create notebook", and it wouldn't let me.  What's that about?  Several hours later I could following the exact same steps, but I don't know what happened before.

Thanks!

Deb

• Level 5*
On 9/22/2020 at 1:14 AM, Deb11 said:

Q1: How do I create notebooks within notebooks?   
Q2: What is a notebook "stack" and is that the answer to the above (nested notebooks) or is that something else?

Evernote has no support for "notebooks within notebooks"   
For notebooks, you can assign notebooks to a Stack - this gives you two levels to work with

>>3  levels

Evernote's primary organization tool is Tags    
They have a parent/child structure that supports unlimited levels

You can use the notebook/tag trees to emulate folders for your notes

>>Q3. Can I change the order of notebooks and notes in the list?

Notebooks are in Name sequence (alphabetical)   
Adjust the order by adjusting the notebook  name

>>Q4: When I attempted to create my first notebook I received the error in a red box "failed to create notebook",