(Archived) Applescript from Evernote to Calendar To Do?

Viv Ilo Veith

Idea

Has anyone written a script to easily move To Do items from Evernote to iCal or any other Calendar program? How about to a To Do list associated with a calendar? Or is there a program that plays nicely with Evernote which accomplishes this? The ability to drag and drop into a time slot on a daily calendar would be ideal. I am a GTDer to a certain extent but find I work best when I plan out my day by moving certain tasks over to the calendar or at least to a Today todo list.

I am on OS 10.6.4. I am fairly new to the Mac and have not written any script myself. I live in Seattle and would love to meet with someone(s) who are using Evernote in a similar manner.

TIA,

Em

http://www.DancingUpsideDown.com

2 replies to this idea

Hi Em,

There are ways to do some of what you're talking about in AppleScript but, so far, I haven't found a good way to link an iCal event to an item in Evernote. Presumably, at some point Evernote will have a sanctioned way to paste a link to a note within other apps... there are ways to do that now, but they are "hacks". My suggestion is that, if it's an important feature to you, you should let the people at Evernote know.

Services like Nozbe or iPhone apps like EgretList are GTD/To-Do programs that interact with Evernote -- and might be a better fit for you. Nozbe offers a free (if limited) account to check out how it works before you sign up for their paid plans, and EgretList is only a few bucks. Probably worth taking a look to see if either meet your needs.

FInally, I'm just starting to post some scripts which link OmniFocus with Evernote... early stages of that, but thought I'd mention it.

Good luck!

This is a basic Applescript for converting a single selected Evernote (alarm must be turned on with date chosen) to a todo in iCal (MacOSX 10.7.5).

Here's the note in Evernote on the Mac: post-170095-0-49796200-1387481682_thumb.