Why should I use Evernote?

JackQAQ

I had looked up many tools like Notion/Roam Research
I'm a student, can i know what improvements  did Evernote done to compete with other apps and why should I use Evernote?

Thanks
  • Level 5*

Hi.  Since Evernote,  like most (I think) the of the other note-taking apps available,  has a free Basic version,  why don't you try it to see if it meets your needs?  If it's not suitable now,  then - if you're planning to use an app for study - you should use something else.  We've been told that Evernote are developing an updated and upgraded interface for their various different versions,  but they don't (usually) get into detail on what is in the pipeline,  and even that might get changed or delayed as time goes on.  Find something that works for you now - maybe look to change to something better once you have more experience. 

• Level 5*
17 hours ago, JackQAQ said:
I had looked up many tools like Notion/Roam Research  ..  why should I use Evernote?

Do you need the features of tools like Notion/Rome Research?

Personally, my needs are a tool that stores and organizes my notes/documents    
The simple note editor is appreciated; including the enml/html format   
The Tag paradigm works for organization, as well as text search   
Offline data storage is great, with the cloud as backup   
I make use of the client software (Mac and iPad), with web as backup   
Also note links, both internal and external   
Finally, my data is not locked in - it's easily exported

20 hours ago, JackQAQ said:

I'll try evernote for a couple weeks first, and try if it is suitable for me or not, thanks! 

Let us know how you get on. Personally I find roam and notion far too complex and unproductive. I want to write not spend as long finding a structure to write. Evernote has some handy features and if you are gonna do some serious study etc the tags feature will be really handy. 

• Like 4
  • 3 weeks later...