Remove Cell Phone Number from Profile?

PapaTango

Idea

Hi,

Is it possible to remove my cell phone number from "Security Summary"?

I've been using Evernote for over 9 years and I never had my cell phone number on my account. I recently was forced to add it to enable 2-Step verification.

6 replies to this idea

• Level 5

Since the use of Authenticator apps is exclusive for paid accounts, you can choose:

- Upgrade to a paid account, switch 2FA to an authenticator app

- Quit using 2FA (which I think is no good idea ...), skip the mobile number needed to send you codes for 2FA

Probably none of these 2 options is to your liking - but when using a powerful service free of charge, sometimes options are limited.

16 hours ago, PinkElephant said:

Since the use of Authenticator apps is exclusive for paid accounts, you can choose:

That surprises me, because I have a free account and I use an authenticator app.

I just did a quick search on Evernote site to find this information and I found this: https://help.evernote.com/hc/en-us/articles/209005157

I'm attaching a screenshot from the link above to this message just in case someone updates that page and people come here to read my post and think I made a mistake.

evernote.png

That states free accounts can use authenticator app. So, back to my original question, how do I remove my phone number from my account?

Moreover, the free account does not support SMS. So, why Evernote forced me to enter my phone number to enable 2 - Step verification?

• Level 5

There is obviously conflicting information in the help database.

About the phone number, no idea. Maybe somebody else can help - but note that this is a user forum, so EN staff may or may not read and answer this.

You can go for one month to a paid account, and post a support ticket.

6 hours ago, PinkElephant said:

There is obviously conflicting information in the help database.