Core Spotlight uses high CPU when running Evernote

For several months now, whenever I have Evernote running on my Mac I've noticed the corespotlightd process takes a higher than expected CPU percentage.  It could be anywhere from 25% - 45%.  It's significant enough that it drains my battery more quickly than it used to (I've been using Evernote for a couple years).  It got to the point where I stopped using Evernote and switched to OneNote.  But after using OneNote for a while, I think I like Evernote a lot better.

So, I'm back to trying to figure out why corespotlightd keeps running with a high CPU percent when Evernote is running.  I uninstalled Evernote and reinstalled and still get the same behaviour.  I've let it run for a long time so if it's indexing, it's really taking a long time.

Any suggestions for how I can resolve this?

Paul

• Level 5

No idea. On my MacBook Pro EN is completely silent, only taking up a small fraction of available CPU. It only spikes when I put load on it, like searching or other jobs.

Could you be more specific on MacOS, EN version, if it was installed directly or from the AppStore, and the Mac you’re using (model, year, CPU, RAM).

• 3 months later...

I'm having the same problem with a new Macbook Air, Evernote 7.14 update has been installed.

When I have used the search function within Evernote at times the fan kicks in. Otherwise it never kicks in. 

I then check the Activity Monitor and find that 'corespotlightd' is using more of my CPU than Evernote, enough such that the Macbook begins to overheat thus prompting the fun to run.. 

• 8 months later...