Using Environment Variables in Links?

Hi, I am new to Evernote, but having trouble using Windows environment variables in Evernote links.

For example: file:%APPDATA% works in Windows explorer to get to C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Roaming in Windows, but this link fails in Evernote.  I have tried a bunch of variations on the syntax but no love.  Is this possible in Evernote?

Thanks!

Hi CalS,

I had tried all forms of this and could not get any of them to work.  Could you give me specific syntax with an environment variable?

I have tried:

file:///%APPDATA%

file:///%APPDATA%/

file:///APPDATA/

file:%APPDATA%

None of these or other permutations and combinations work.  I reached the conclusion that Evernote does not support environment variables, but if they are working for you I would be very interested in knowing the exact syntax!

Thanks!

Steve

Ok, thanks.  I kind of figured.  Perhaps you could put it on a wishlist?  Although environment variables are not platform specific, many of the variables themselves are, so Evernote could infer the platform from the variable?  Or they would simply fail on the wrong platform which would probably not matter, because most users are likely to have a single platform within the scope of their note sharing and the note itself would be platform-specific by definition anyhow if it were using environment variables in the first place.

Thanks again,

Steve

• Level 5*
57 minutes ago, Steve M in San Diego said:

I had tried all forms of this and could not get any of them to work.  Could you give me specific syntax with an environment variable?

Sorry, didn't catch the environmental variable.  All my links are local per se.  I have duplicated Windows User Name and DropBox folders on multiple PCs thereby enabling the links from within EN (looks the same no matter the machine).  I find larger spreadsheets with pivot tables are better off not stored in EN.

16 minutes ago, dconnet said: