Another goodbye and some tips

machine

Just wanted to say goodbye to my beloved Evernote that I have been using as a premium customer since 2011 and had around 10k notes. This was not an easy decision, and I had to do a lot of research and trial and error to find the right tools for my needs which I hope to share here with the community in case someone might find them useful with similar goals.

First of all, why I moved out of Evernote? Here is a small list:

• I needed a document management system more then a note taking system
  • I was uncertain as to the future of Evernote
  • I needed metadata for my notes, for filtering, search etc
  • I needed a better editor
  • I wanted an app designed for taking hand written notes, using a stylus etc

Before plunging head first into another tool, I did a mapping exercise of what my content was, and how I was using Evernote, and I realized that I was mainly using it as a document management system, there were some notes sure, but mainly it was documents. My use cases involved archiving Bills, bank statements, invoices, receipts, health history, family documents etc. At least 90% of my usage was documents, the rest was notes. The most important thing for me was to have a contextual and chronological order of these documents, for example when (date) a document was published/printed on. That way I could see context and timeline of events leading up-to a certain document. In Evernote, I was using the "Created" column for this purpose, which even though a work around, did the job well. 

Once it was clear to me that my use case mainly was document management, and then note taking, I started looking at various document management systems, both free and paid for.