Multiple Dates and Locations per Note

FrTommy

Idea

I am a pastor and use Evernote to store my Sermons and sermon notes. Currently I create sermons with a little section at the top that includes Date and Location the sermon was preached. It would be nice if I could remove this from the actual note and have it in the Info section. There is a date and Location option but a particular sermon might be preached at multiple locations on different dates. For example:

9/1/17 - Grace Church, Anytown, State

9/10/18 - Community Church, Anothertown, State

It would be a nice little feature to be able to have the ability to create multiple date/location entries for a Note so that the history of a particular sermon/note could be seen.

3 replies to this idea

• Level 5*
1 hour ago, FrTommy said:

It would be nice if I could remove this from the actual note and have it in the Info section.

1549200159_ScreenShot2018-10-08at10_31_53.png.3f83dfa71f4a7869fd277797e85bdeb4.png

Which device/platform?  

I use a script (Mac) to copy metadata into the note contents.

The metadata only allow for a single entry.

>>It would be a nice little feature to be able to have the ability to create multiple date/location entries for a Note

Tags

@FrTommy - Here is an approach.

As I understand how you have implemented your data, you have defined an Evernote Note as a "speech". (I am purposely avoiding the use of the term "sermon". It could be construed as (1) a "speech"  or (2) the "delivery of a speech".) As I understand, you are using approach #1.

So, consider trying approach #2. That is, each Evernote Note will be the "delivery of a speech" and do the following to each Note:

• Set the Note's "Create" date as the date you delivered the speech. (You won't be able to do this on the iOS version of Evernote. Use the desktop version.)
  • Create a set of Tags, 1 for each location where you deliver speeches. Add one of the Tags to each Note.