A Positive Post - I've Returned

I've been using Evernote for years. Unfortunately, with the price increases as of late I've had to create new accounts so I can apply a student discount each year. To me, the service is worth every drop of its $45 a month, but I just couldn't justify spending $90 on it here in Canada. Especially not when Office is about the same price and you get so much more bang for your buck. Anyway, while I may appear as a relatively new user here, I've been on this forum for I don't know, at least five maybe seven years.

I was using Evernote to house notes for school, work, and personal use. This is because I went back to school taking online courses while working a full-time job.

Now that I am done school, I thought I would give another system a try and see if I could ween myself off Evernote. I had been using Bear for a couple of months on iOS and my Macs at home, and OneNote at work. OneNote is pretty good - and I do share notes with coworkers...I will continue to use it in that respect. But there are a few things that drive me nuts about OneNote too.

1) Having to sync individual notebooks - it's not one big, beautiful sync package like Evernote. I don't want to have to remember if I saved one Notebook on OneDrive and another on the network drive at work.

2) Annotating documents and images doesn't work for me. It's great that I can highlight a document and take notes, but the minute I move objects in the note around, the document moves while all my markups stay in place -- they're two separate layers. I much prefer Evernote's "stay where I put you" approach.

3) The "type anywhere, just not here" editor. It's a free editor in that you can click anywhere, but too often it wouldn't let me put the cursor right where I wanted. Likewise with saving attachments. It wouldn't let me save the icons in a row, and it would jostle them around the screen at random.