Sorting scanned receipts and then naming them

I am a newbie.  If (today) I scan in a lot of varied receipts from 2 or 3 years, is there any way to search on the actual transaction dates printed on the receipts?  Said another way, could I scan in a few hundred receipts from many months and then search for July 2017 so that I could name those receipt notes with a 201707 name?

• Level 5*
5 hours ago, Joe7248301234567 said:

I am a newbie.  If (today) I scan in a lot of varied receipts from 2 or 3 years, is there any way to search on the actual transaction dates printed on the receipts?  Said another way, could I scan in a few hundred receipts from many months and then search for July 2017 so that I could name those receipt notes with a 201707 name?

Evernote OCRs the scanned receipts.  If the date is legible and consistent, you should be able to search for July 2017

My experience is that receipts rarely have a consistent method of showing the date.

• Level 5*
5 hours ago, Joe7248301234567 said:

To @DTLow's point you can find them but you may have to use multiple searches with Jul July 7 07 and 18 2018, and sometimes 7 is July and sometimes it is day..  I do most of my receipt searching by company and/or product, eg home hammer for home depot hammer.  Also, I don't change the title of receipts, I leave what ScanSnap creates since searching is on the PDF not the title.  2017_09_23_19_31_32.pdf for example.  FWIW.

• Level 5*
2 hours ago, CalS said:

Also, I don't change the title of receipts, I leave what ScanSnap creates since searching is on the PDF not the title.  2017_09_23_19_31_32.pdf for example. 

The Scanable app (IOS) sets a title of "Receipt" and date.  The date is also stored in the note's created/updated date.

My standard is to include the date in the title along with all important info and $ amount.
I assign tags !Type-Receipt, Vendor, Budget-Category