Children's artwork - save as image or document?

Hi everyone,

I am really new to Evernote and have been trying to search the forums for this answer.

I want to save my kids artwork to Evernote most of which are drawings/ paintings. What is the best practice when it comes to artwork and drawings?  I know for more 3D type stuff I plan to just take it as a photo but should the drawings/ paintings be taken as a picture also or as a colored document when using the Android or apple app?

Thank you for anyone's input.

• Level 5*
29 minutes ago, itsmejson said:

What is the best practice when it comes to artwork and drawings? 

For the best quality I'd use a camera app instead of the camera bundled in Evernote's editor.

That said, I use the camera app in Evernote and Scannable.  I find the quality fine for my use.

I would save art as an image.

6 hours ago, DTLow said:

For the best quality I'd use a camera app instead of the camera bundled in Evernote's editor.

That said, I use the camera app in Evernote and Scannable.  I find the quality fine for my use.

I would save art as an image.

Thank you for your input! Do you save any type of artwork as a PDF or just as an image?

• Level 5*
1 minute ago, itsmejson said:

Thank you for your input! Do you save any type of artwork as a PDF or just as an image?

I don't have any specifications; just a general feeling that the best quality is maintained when I use the image format.

• Level 5*

For photos, I don’t use the document feature of Evernote’s scanning features (artwork as opposed to an electric bill). And, I don’t see any benefits for PDFs. 

I take a photo (iphone camera app) , trimming or adjusting it before I export it to Evernote. One benefit of images is that text and handwriting will be recognized in them. Evernote does have text recognition for PDFs, but it isn’t optimized for handwriting, so the results won’t be so great.