Why are there still note conflicts? Is this 1999?

Guru-Florida

Idea

I've been an Evernote user for about 4 years now I think. Why do I still have to put up with note conflicts? I am *one* person. I am not ambidextrous so I cannot type on two computers at once so why is this a hard problem to solve? I am a programmer btw...so I mean this rhetorically...I know it's solvable. I use git every day and I get less conflicts with a team of developers editing the same files. I've seen countless upgrades with useless features and yet note conflicts are as bad as they were 4 years ago. Besides some visual differences I can't say the app has changed much in 4 years either. So is Evernote dead?

Forgive the rant, but I can't keep a simple "Buying a Home" checklist in sync between two computers. I would say there is at least an hour between when I check the list between devices. Many times I am just looking at the note and whoa wtf I get a conflict the next time I look at it. Did they not sync in the hour I left the computer idle? Is there not even rudimentary "these two versions are equal" check? How about a line by line comparison and just highlight the changed lines...or for once do a useful feature to the very core of the app and add some git-style smarts in there! How could conflict-free notes for a *single user app* across his devices not be a Priority 1 feature request?

Thanks,

Colin

9 replies to this idea

• Level 5*
4 minutes ago, Guru-Florida said:

So what you guys are saying is, "Yes, it is in fact 1999. Set levers to manual." lol :P 

I'm saying its almost the end of 2017, and I agree that its a good practice to "sync whenever you enter/leave a platform"

It works for me; I rarely get conflicts on note changes