Annotations & Citations

oldcollegeguy

Idea

Hello All;

I have been using Evernote for about 4 years now and just went to the premium service.  I am also in college and starting to write papers.  I would like to see a bibliography and references ability added to Evernote.  An article in a magazine saying Evernote wanted to be the only information manager you ever needed, convinced me to start using the application.  It seems to me citations,bibliographies, and references are the lifeblood of anyone who writes. If Evernote really wants to be the best note taking solution for serious and professional writers, being able to add citations on-the-fly is critical.

Regards, Robert Williamson

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

9 replies to this idea

• Level 5*
On 5/7/2017 at 9:20 PM, oldcollegeguy said:

It seems to me citations,bibliographies, and references are the lifeblood of anyone who writes.

Personally, I don't think a note editor is the best tool for "anyone who writes"

For serious work, I use a word processor (Apple Pages).  The documents are stored in Evernote as note attachments

Definitely a critical feature for any kind of advanced degree or research writing or publication.  I'm very interested in using this platform to accelerate my research.  Here's what I'm thinking.

1. As a researcher, I need to source a source from a citation template. 
    1. The template would tag the resulting note in some discoverable way (perhaps with source:<name> tag).
    2. The template would capture pertinent information about the source given their various formats:
      1. Books, journal articles, websites, etc.
  2. As a researcher, I need to create a citation from a citation template that permits the linking of the citation with a source and the citation's location information.  source:book1 location:page-200
  3. As a researcher, I need to export all sources in an acceptable format for inclusion into various document authoring software, e.g., Microsoft Word, Scrivener, etc.