Mac blank notes due sync clash and app quality

AndyDent

Idea

I am fairly certain I fall into some kind of elite victim status as an Evernote user because I have nearly 28,000 notes.

There is an ongoing problem with the Mac clients and sync - they are unusable during sync and it takes a long time with that many notes.

(I am a developer so may make assumptions about how things work from that perspective.)

There appears to be a phase during sync in which the entire app is locked up. It is unresponsive to commands, a cmd-N for a New note has no effect until sync finishes, typing has no effect etc. 

This phase may not affect people with fewer notes.

I suspect Evernote has a fundamental architectural flaw in its reliance on the Javascript-based editing engine.

One manifestation of the problem is that there is a lockup of sometimes as much as 30 seconds even before the sync progress spinner starts to change colour and turn.

Notes that I select or open in a separate window show up with blank content and remain that way - I have to close the window or choose another note in order to force a refresh.

I am getting frustrated by this and related iOS performance issues to the point where I am seriously considering quitting Evernote and moving to One Note. I have been a loyal paying customer for years and recommended it continually but these problems cause me to come to a complete halt in my working lie way too often. 

I am now trying to work around it by only ever doing manual sync. It's a very sad state of affairs to be reduced to that.

8 replies to this idea

• Level 5*

Hi.  Welcome to the elite victim club then because I'm in your neighborhood with note numbers,  though I don't suffer so badly from freezes (Windows user too...;)).