(Archived) Evernote can publish my content without my permission??

I'm a technical consultant who visits multiple clients on a daily basis, and records information as necessary in a marble notebook which I carry around with me. My notes include the time I make it onsite, the time I leave, handwritten network diagrams, server names, and credentials (usernames and passwords) for servers, routers, firewalls, etc... As a new iPad owner, I was looking for a product that would allow me to use the iPad to enter that information in a way which I can organize and search for it and even be able to synchronize it so its accessible by PC. A friend suggested Evernote, so I downloaded the app today (haven't had a chance to look at it yet) and decided to read the terms and conditions to see if there were any hidden terms which grant them license to my content, since it didn't makse sense for a company to offer a free service such as this without generating revenue somehow such as selling my data to market research companies or something. What I found shocked me!

In paragraph 5 it states that we give license to Evernote to display, perform, and distribute my content! There is no way on earth that I could ever utilize this service, it would leave me open to Evernote publishing private and sensitive data! If the product met my needs, I would have had no problem even paying for the service but the terms and conditions grant evernote the right to do with my data what they want. I feel sorry for the people who never bother to read the terms and find out the surprise later on.

I have no idea if in practice they actually do this or whether you have control over what they publish or not, but that clause grants them the right to do whatever they want with your data regardless of any setting or preference you set. The bottom line is it's there and is a disaster waiting to happen for anyone who expects the privacy and security of their data.