I need help with tags!

BryanHasAQuestion

Hi there! 

I've had Evernote for a couple of years now, but I really need you guys to help me out here!

I'm a French student attending a business school, on a Bachelor's degree and I have had issues organising my notes in Evernote.
From what I've read on the internet, it seems that using tags instead of notebooks is the better way to get organised.
I am currently following a 3 year course, and I am therefore taking classes that have 3 different levels. 

I thought of a system of tags that would go like this:

• Maths
    • Year1
      • Chapter 
        • Sub-Chapter
    • Year 2
      • Chapter
        • Sub-Chapter
    • Year 3 
      • Chapter 
        • Sub-Chapter

However, Evernote won't allow me to duplicate tags (Year 1, Year 2, Year 3 throughout all the different subject). 

Does anyone have a piece of advice for me? 

Thanks in advance!

• Level 5*
On 2016-11-16 at 6:52 PM, BryanHasAQuestion said:

I thought of a system of tags that would go like this:

• Maths
    • Year1
      • Chapter 
        • Sub-Chapter
    • Year 2
      • Chapter
        • Sub-Chapter
    • Year 3 
      • Chapter 
        • Sub-Chapter

However, Evernote won't allow me to duplicate tags (Year 1, Year 2, Year 3 throughout all the different subject). 

I'd probably use tag Maths during the year,
and at the end of the year rename the tag to Maths-Year1 or use two tags, adding Year1

Does this have to be a hierarchy.
Why not completely independent tags, as in tag:Maths tag:Year1 
- For  example, If I wanted to tag  Cars and Flowers,
   and then the colour Red,
   I would make colour a completely independent tag
- Possibly Year1 should be completely independent, in a hierarchy under Business School

Another idea is to qualify your subtags, as in Maths-Year1

I rarely use the tag hierarchy when tagging; in fact it's not available on the iPad 

On 19/11/2016 at 8:52 AM, DTLow said:

I'd probably use tag Maths during the year,