What is Evernote?

Hi,

I have been using Evernote for the last two weeks. It was recommended to me by a work collegue. It seems to be a great App and I have learnt a lot about tagging and organising things on my computer. I am just trying to understand what is the difference between Evernote and Dropbox. I read on one forum that someone couldn't understand what the difference was between the two. Is evernote a form of storage for word documents etc? Can I store Powerpoint documents? I understand that Dropbox also stores software and Evernote doesn't etc. However, I am trying to workout what the advantages are between Evernote and Dropbox? I am a teacher so how can evernote advantage me?

• Level 5

Hi and welcome to the forums !

Well, this is a broad topic and much has been said abut this in the forum here.

In general, EN can do everything you pointed out in your post and much more. Think of a big "bucket" that can hold all your information AND with easy ways to organize and FIND everything again quickly.

The following will be a good start and helpful for you:

http://evernote.com/video/

https://evernote.com/getting_started/

Have fun!

Wern

DropBox gives you cloud storage for computer files.  You can share individual files and folders of files with specific people, or make them public.  Since it is cloud storage (non-local, Web-based) you can access your DropBox from any computer or device that allows Web browsing.  It is best thought of as, and shows on your personal computer as, a folder in your file management application (on the Mac, this is Finder).

Evernote gives you cloud storage for text-based Notes.  A Note is a proprietary container of in-line information — perhaps most easily imagined as a special kind of email message.  You can share Notes with individuals or make them public.