(Archived) Feature Suggestion for Writers

Gecko68

As a writer, I use Evernote for all my notes for writing. I've been waiting patiently for Scrivener to complete their iOS version, but it's very slow going, and they hardly provide any updates on progress. 

What would we need to use Evernote as a writers tool?

1. Nested stacks. - We need to be able to put stacks (or folders) in stacks.

2. Duplicate notebook names. - Currently you can't create two notebook stacks and have "Outline" as a notebook name in each of them. 

3. Outline view - With nested stacks, it would be nice to have an outline view, with "preview text"

4. Manual Sort - Be able to sort notes, sub-stacks manually 

Yes, I can limp along and use Evernote now, but a few additional features can make the process easier. 

Here is the layout of what I'd like to be able to do. 

Great American Novel - Stack

Outline -  Notebook

Section 1 - Note

Section 2 - Note

Drafts  - Notebook

Chapter 1 - Note

Chapter 2 - Note

Characters - Notebook

John Doe - Note

Jane Doe - Note

Notes  - Stack

Story Ideas - Notebook

Note 1 - Note

Images  - Notebook

Image 1 

Image 2

Locations - Notebook 

USA - note

Final - Notebook

Chapter 1 - Note

Chapter 2 - Note

Feel free to add to this concept. I know there are a lot of people out there waiting for a great writing tool. 

Thanks

• Level 5*

Don't know if or how high this figures in Evernote's priorities or whether there's any advantage for them in catering for authors' needs to this extent; and whether it's even possible to offer (for example) stacking stacks in all the supported OSs. Evernote don't say. You can hope though...