(Archived) What's the point of notebooks when there are tags?

flupwatson

I'm new to Evernote, but have been enjoying it immensely, especially having all my notes in one place.

The thing I don't get is what the point of notebooks are. I created a few, such as recipes and teaching, but

honestly, I could have just as easily created tags with the same names since you can add multiple tags to any note,

so I really don't get what notebooks add that a tag wouldn't.

Please let me know if I'm missing something!

Must admit I'm moving away from tags and too many notebooks. A very large percentage of my nearly 10,000 notes are now in a single Notebook called Reference and without tags.

Doesn't seem to make searching for stuff any more difficult and much quicker for filing stuff, as I don't need to think about which tag/notebook to put it in.

• Level 5*

There are no guarantees that the notes will be in the note cache unless you use offline notebooks. The note cache for notes not in offline notebooks the is liable to be cleared if the OS needs more space. So it may appear to work just fine, but you may find that it doesn't someday. It'll probably be exactly when you need it most, unfortunately (Murphy's Law).

I find myself baffled by offline notebooks and why you need them.

I am not a pro user and yet I can access any of my notes on my mobile offline, provided I have I have opened them at least once on my mobile.

Am I missing something?

Notes on the mobile devices may be cached. However, when you have a lot of notes or the cache gets cleared (much like your web browser), you will not be able to access those notes w/o an internet connection. IOW, it's a ***** shoot as to whether you'll be able to access them or not, unless they are in an offline notebook.

EDIT: Sniped by Jeff!