(Archived) Where is the Evernote data on my PC?

LarryFr

Hi all...I'm brand new to Evernote. Been tooling around with it for 2 days now. I'm not computer illiterate, but I cannot seem to figure out or find out the following:

- is my Everynote data (notes, clips, etc) stored exclusively in the cloud, or is there a copy on my PC?

- if it's on my PC, where is it? I've checked all the usual places (roaming, local, etc etc) and there's nothing there

I've done quite a few Google searches to try to get to the bottom of this. Most of the information does not seem to apply to the version I'm using. For instance, people talk about being able to set a particular notebook to local/offline. I see no commands or options anywhere in Evernote to do that.

It is quite important to me to know that my data is backed up not only in the cloud but on my own physical machine. So if anyone can shed light on where the data is, how you access it, and where the commands are to define one notebook as cloud and another as offline/private/local, I would really appreciate it. Thank you.

• Level 5

Hi Griffith,

welcome to the forum.

All your data (stacks, notebooks, notes) is stored in one single database on your PC. The filename is: username.exb.

You can see the location of your .exb file by going to:

Tools >> Options >> General

When you create a new notebook you decide if it is synchronized (to the cloud) or local. Local notebooks don't get synchronized to the cloud.

Wern

Hi Wern

Thanks for the reply. But... this is precisely the challenge I am having with Evernote. I searched my computer from the desktop down and it did not find a file called username.exb. And I have looked over every inch of the Evernote application and cannot find Tools -> Options -> General. Put simply, I cannot find "Tools" so I can't even begin that process.