Why no OCR search on handwritten notes?

gleicher

I have been using Evernote for 2 months - its great so far, except:

It doesn't seem like it is doing handwriting recognition on scanned documents (which are uploaded as PDFs).

I was wondering: is this not working because I am not paying for premium (yet), so I don't get searching in PDFs? I was hoping to try this out before I pay for premium (chicken and egg here: I am only interested in premium if it is good at letting me search my hand-written notes).

Or is there some other explanation (like, handwriting recognition doesn't work in PDFs, or only works from photographs, or ...)

Thanks!

mike

For handwriting, you're better off with JPEG images. We're using more of a standard "OCR" package for PDFs, which is designed more for scanned documents. JPEG images are processed with a different system that assumes a lower quality of input (e.g. from camera phones). This produces a "tree" of possible matches for every word, which works better for handwriting.

Thanks - is there an easy way to convert a PDF to an image format (preferably after uploading)? (my fast scanners all give me multi-page PDFs which is really convenient, except for this). Is there a good image file format to handle the multi-page documents (if i upload each page as an image, i'll need to keep the ordering)?

thanks,

mike

Check your scanner software settings. You should be able to specify you want the scans to be saved as an image rather than PDF. The ease of file naming will depend upon your software. The version of Paperport that came with my Xerox Dcoumate 510 will let me load up the automatic document feeder with a stack of pages. But if I'm scanning each page as an image, I have to manually add the file name after each page is scanned. (After providing a unique file name, the software then scans the next page in the feeder, asks the name and so on & so on.)