Evernote for Academics?

Hi -- I'm a PhD student in History and I use Evernote constantly: to keep track of the 100s of academic books I need to read for qualifying exams, to take detailed, organized notes on primary sources and research, and to keep track of writing and ideas. However, there are a lot of programs out there that my colleagues prefer to use because of their citation capabilities (like Refworks, Zotero, Endnote). Right now, I have to manually reproduce bibliographic citations from my notes when I write in Word, or I separately use Zotero, which can be a pain. Anyone have suggestions for ways to organize citations and bibliographies?

Overall, I'd love to see Evernote expand its abilities for citations, even linking up with Zotero on web browsers. I find the organization -- and ability to import old documents that are word-searchable -- incredibly, incredibly helpful. I believe many other grad students and academics would prefer the easy-to-use interface to more expensive programs, too.

Thanks!

• Level 5*

Hi -- I'm a PhD student in History and I use Evernote constantly: to keep track of the 100s of academic books I need to read for qualifying exams, to take detailed, organized notes on primary sources and research, and to keep track of writing and ideas. However, there are a lot of programs out there that my colleagues prefer to use because of their citation capabilities (like Refworks, Zotero, Endnote). Right now, I have to manually reproduce bibliographic citations from my notes when I write in Word, or I separately use Zotero, which can be a pain. Anyone have suggestions for ways to organize citations and bibliographies?