Welcome! You're currently a Guest.

If you'd like to join in the Discussion, or access additional features in our forums, please sign in with your Evernote Account here. Have an Evernote Account but forgot your password? Reset it! Don't have an account yet? Create One! You'll need to set your Display Name before your first post.

Photo
iOS

Opening Documents on the iPad

evernote

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Rathanel

Rathanel

• Pip
  • Title: Member
  • Group: Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 10 January 2012 - 07:20 PM

I'm fairly new to the iOS platform in general, so perhaps this is merely a newbie thing, but...

I normally store longer documents as .odt files in Evernote to take advantage of the editing capabilities Open Office offers. I want to open those files on the iPad in order to continue editing them, but I'm having trouble doing so.

How do I go about that?

Is it a software issue, in that I need to buy a program for the iPad that supports .odt files? Do I need to use a different format that Evernote / iPad will support?

Is it possible to open documents in that manner on the iPad at all?

Thanks,
Rathanel

#2 Metrodon

Metrodon

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Title: Bankrobber
  • 4,785 posts

Posted 10 January 2012 - 07:43 PM

Is it a software issue, in that I need to buy a program for the iPad that supports .odt files? Do I need to use a different format that Evernote / iPad will support?

I'm pretty sure that iOS doesn't support .odt out the box so you will need an app that can open that format. Even then I'm not sure whether you will be able to edit or not....

#3 anjoschu

anjoschu

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Title: Browncoat
  • 249 posts

Posted 10 January 2012 - 08:24 PM

It is possible on iOS to open an attachment from one app (Evernote) in another app (some editor), but unfortunately it is impossible to just "save the attachment back" to the original app.