Is Evernote a safe place to store my passwords?

I'm a relative novice to Evernote and have just gone premium on it. The applicability is staggering. But so far, I have not used it as a means of storing login and password data for other apps and other things I use. Is the encryption robust enough for me to store a list of my logins and passwords for, say Google, Active.com, etc.? Does anyone else use Evernote to store this stuff?

• Level 5*

Me too, I'm an OS X user and 1Password is probably safer and certainly more useful as I can populate user name and password fields with a key combo. I'm sure there is something similar for Windows - lastpass maybe???

• Level 5

During one of the Evernote podcasts, the Marketing Director of Evernote said he stores his Federal Tax returns in Evernote. He did not mention encryption.

Heather from Evernote said: "she stores "my "sensitive" information (Passport scans, titles, tax info) in Evernote unencrypted as well. It's a matter of personal preference/comfort level."

Personally, I use LastPass for my passwords. They are all very long (more than 12 characters) and use upper case, lower case, digits, & symbols.

Why? Take a look at this page to analyze your password.

https://www.grc.com/haystack.htm

I'm a new user and like KeePass for passwords on Windows. I'd like to store some passwords in Evernote but since you can't password protect (encrypt) a notebook - it isn't safe (imo). I would like to put past taxes and other sensitive info (copies of birth certificates, passports, etc) but am concerned since I can't protect a notebook. From the evernote website:

"It's also worth mentioning that Evernote doesn't support the encryption of any of the following:

* Images/PDFs

* File Attachments (like Office documents)

* Audio Clips

* Whole Notes/Notebooks"

Please Evernote, add the ability to password protect a whole notebook or at least individual PDFs.

Thanks.