Welcome! You're currently a Guest.

If you'd like to join in the Discussion, or access additional features in our forums, please sign in with your Evernote Account here. Have an Evernote Account but forgot your password? Reset it! Don't have an account yet? Create One! You'll need to set your Display Name before your first post.

Photo
Windows

New Feature Suggestion - Note expiration.

evernote

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 atactic

atactic

• Pip
  • Title: Member
  • Group: Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 07 February 2011 - 06:02 PM

Hello,
I'd like to suggest a new feature - Note expiration.

I've been using Evernote for over 2 years and have several notes. It's been an invaluable resource.

Now that i have so many notes, it's getting harder to search for general items. I find myself wading through notes that should be deleted. I'd like to be able to set an "expiration" time where notes are automatically deleted; or moved to a "dormant" area of Evernote.

I'm sure that I can work around this with specific tags and procedures; but a real feature would work best.

Thanks,
atactic

#2 crane

crane

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Title: Browncoat
  • 1,214 posts

Posted 07 February 2011 - 06:22 PM

If I recall correctly, this was requested years ago, and denied.

It's very feasible to do this with a tag and a saved search. For instance, set up a tag called "expired". Set up a saved search that finds notes created more than 2 years ago, that have this tag. Every now and then, look at the results of the saved search and delete those notes return.

This assumes that you would tag notes that should be deleted after a certain time. If you think all notes over 2 years old should be deleted, skip the tag part and just delete anything returned by a saved search for 2 year old notes.
Grand Mistress of EverNote ;)

#3 jfkaess

jfkaess

• PipPip
  • Title: Alliance Lackey
  • 95 posts

Posted 07 February 2011 - 10:55 PM